Anything but ordinary

All throughout my life, I’ve been called a lot of things, but ordinary was never one of them. I’ve  been called weird by the cruel kids in elementary school who follow one another like lemmings. I’ve been called fat by the prissy, young girls in my sixth grade class. And I’ll never forget being called ugly by the majority of guys I crushed on during my boy crazy years.

All of these names take a toll on a person. Years later, and I’m still effected by the labels I was given growing up. Maybe at one point I was all of those things or perhaps I started to believe I was.

But thinking back, the words that came from the venomous mouths of my peers, made me who I am today.

I am humble and understanding. I’ve made friends with the odd kids, the ones with no one to talk to because they were considered the weirdos. To this day, I will listen to people and not judge.

I get along with any type of person. I am intellectual and witty. I have an off beat sense of humor. I know what it’s like to be alone. And although, I’d love to go back and have a different experience growing up, I might not be who I am today-which is everything I’ve always wished to be.

I may have lost weight, grew into myself and gained confidence but what helped me through this was knowing I was never ordinary.

Like in my favorite movie, American Beauty, Angela Hayes says, “there’s nothing worse in life than being ordinary”.

 

via Daily Prompt: Ordinary<a href="http://Ordinary“>

One thought on “Anything but ordinary

Leave a Reply

